Cert News: Microsoft plans to retire MCSA, MCSE and MCSD Exams

Editor’s note: Microsoft announced on March 26 that due to the COVID-19 pandemic it would extend the expiration date for its MCSA, MCSD and MCSE certifications, from June 30, 2020 to January 31, 2021.
Microsoft continues to make significant changes to its certification program as part of its push for role-based certifications. What is the latest? It announced Thursday that more than a dozen certifications would be retired on June 30, 2020.
The 15 certifications that are retiring will cover different levels of the Microsoft certification pathway: MSCA, MCSE and MCSD. These certifications are also being retired, as well as the exams associated with them.
Microsoft’s recent certification purge is due in part to its increased focus upon role-based certifications. These certifications are designed to bridge the knowledge gap between what is required to pass certification exams, and what is needed to succeed on the job. Microsoft’s role-based certificates are specific to job roles, many which are cloud-based.
Learn how to become a security expert with SPOTO’s Cybersecurity Training
Start training
MCSA: BI Reporting
MCSA: Dynamics 365 For Operations
MCSA: SQL 2016 BI Development
MCSA: SQL 2016 Database Admin
MCSA: SQL 2016 Database Development
MCSA: SQL Server 2012/2014
MCSA: Windows Platform
MCSA Web Applications
MCSA: Windows Server 2012
M: Windows Server 2016
MCSD: App Builder
MCSE: Business Applications
MCSE: Core Infrastructure
MCSE: Data Management & Analytics
MCSE: Productivity

These certifications will be retained on your Microsoft transcript if you retire with them. They will be “active” for a period of two years from June 30, 2020. They will then be moved to the “inactive” section of your transcript.
You have until June 30, 2020 to take the associated exams if you are currently studying for any one of these certifications. If this is the case, you won’t be able earn that certification.
Microsoft offers role-based certifications for those who hold any of these certifications. This will help you to update your skills and transcript.
Current CertificationEarn any of the following:MCSE Core InfrastructureAzure Administrator Associate
Expert in Azure Solutions Architect
Azure Security Engineer Associate

Associate in ProductivityTeams MCSE
Assistant in Messaging Administration
Security Administrator Associate
Then, you will be able to earn the following:Enterprise Administrator Specialist

MCSE: Data Management and AnalyticsAzure Data Administrator Associate
Data Analyst Associate
Azure Data Engineer Associate
Azure AI Engineer Associate
Azure Data Scientist Associate

MCSD: App BuilderAzure Developer Associate

MCSE: Business AssociateMicrosoft certified: Dynamics 365 Finance Functional Advisor Associate
Microsoft Certified: Dynamics 365 Supply Chain Management Associate, Manufacturing Functional Consultant
Microsoft Certified: Dynamics 365 Supply Chain Management Functional Advisor Associate
Microsoft Certified: Dynamics 365 Customer Services Functional Consultant Associate
Microsoft Certified: Dynamics 365 Field Service Functional Advisor Associate
Microsoft Certified: Dynamics 365 Marketing Functional Advisor Associate
Microsoft Certified: Dynamics 365 Sales Functional Consultant Associate

Source: Microsoft
These changes effectively end Microsoft’s MCSA and MCSE certifications. However, MTA and MOS certifications will not be affected — at least for now.
Do you need Microsoft training? Check out our entire collection of Microsoft certification training.
For more Microsoft certification news and updates, keep checking the SPOTO blog.
Are you not a SPOTO subscriber yet? Start your week-long free trial now.
SPOTO offers everything you need to improve your IT skills and advance in your career: unlimited video training, practice exams, virtual labs, and validated learning